Decisions taken by the Annual General Meeting

Wärtsilä’s Annual General Meeting held on 3 March 2011 approved the financial statements and discharged the members of the Board of Directors and the company’s President & CEO from liability for the financial year 2010. The Meeting approved the Board of Directors' proposal to pay a dividend of EUR 1.75 per share and an extra dividend of EUR 1.00 per share, totalling EUR 2.75 per share. The dividend was paid on 15 March 2011. Adjusted to reflect the increased number of shares resulting from the free share issue, the dividend amounted to EUR 0.88 per share and the extra dividend to EUR 0.50 per share, totalling EUR 1.38 per share.

The Annual General Meeting decided that the Board of Directors shall have nine members. The following were elected to the Board: Ms Maarit Aarni-Sirviö, Mr Kaj-Gustaf Bergh, Mr Alexander Ehrnrooth, Mr Paul Ehrnrooth, Mr Lars Josefsson, Mr Bertel Langenskiöld, Mr Mikael Lilius, Mr Markus Rauramo and Mr Matti Vuoria.

Authorized public accountants KPMG Oy Ab were appointed as the company’s auditors for the year 2011.

Free share issue

The Annual General Meeting decided to approve the free share issue in accordance with the proposal of the Board of Directors. The free share issue was implemented by applying the pre-emptive right of the shareholders so that for each old share one new share was issued. Thereby a total of 98,620,565 new shares were issued. The new shares were registered in the trade register on 8 March 2011.

Organisation of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Wärtsilä Corporation elected Mikael Lilius as its chairman and Matti Vuoria as the deputy chairman. The Board decided to establish an Audit Committee, a Nomination Committee and a Remuneration Committee. The Board appointed from among its members the following members to the Committees:

Audit Committee:

Chairman Markus Rauramo, Maarit Aarni-Sirviö, Alexander Ehrnrooth, Bertel Langenskiöld

Nomination Committee:

Chairman Mikael Lilius, Kaj-Gustaf Bergh, Lars Josefsson, Matti Vuoria

Remuneration Committee:

Chairman Mikael Lilius, Paul Ehrnrooth, Matti Vuoria

There are no related stories
There are no related storiesSwitch to Inside Stories